33booksforanotherbelarus 33booksforanotherbelarus

Books

Нетутэйшыя: Reversion

Нетутэйшыя: Reversion

For Belarusian literature, the 1990s were a time of liberation from the rigid corset of the Soviet literary tradition, in which only certain themes and forms were permitted. In the transition period, new forms and unusual combinations of genres proli... Continue reading
The Dictionary of War
Ostap Slyvynsky

The Dictionary of War

The Dictionary of War After the beginning of Russia's full-scale invasion of Ukraine, Ukrainian poet and translator Ostap Slyvynsky decided to "lend his voice" to the people who shared their war experience with him. The many voices, distilled... Continue reading
The Unwomanly Face of War
Svetlana Alexievich

The Unwomanly Face of War

Svetlana Alexievich's documentary text, written in 1983 and published in Russian in the Soviet Union in 1985, is about women who fought in the Red Army during the Second World War but who have not become part of the collective memory. They tell the a... Continue reading
The Last Breakfast
Kacia Chekatoŭskaya

The Last Breakfast

The Last Breakfast (theatre texts) The volume includes six plays: Mastectomy, The Last Breakfast, Discreet, Half a Year, Gorgons, Theatre. In each play, Kacia Chekatoūskaya takes a close look at those different forms of violence and control th... Continue reading
Minsk School (Almanac)

Minsk School (Almanac)

Since the 2000s, Dmitry Strotsev has been publishing the "Minsk School" almanac in order to pass on the work of the non-conformist Belarusian authors of the 1970s and 1980s. The main language of the almanac was initially Russian, the language of thes... Continue reading
Kinship
Zbych Slupoŭsky

Kinship

Kinship (satire novel) The novel's characters are part of multiple generations that go through upheavals and catastrophes throughout history: Revolution, collectivisation, war, collaboration, the Holocaust, moving out of the villages into the... Continue reading
The Eternal Way
Ihnat Abdziralovič

The Eternal Way

The Eternal Way (Адвечным шляхам) Right at the beginning of this essay, written in 1921, Belarus is presented as “the border between East and West”, a culture without distinct contours. Kančeŭski sees the tragedy of the Belarusian nation in th... Continue reading
The Cultural-Historical Brothel of the Lawyer Velinoŭsky
Paval Kasciukevich

The Cultural-Historical Brothel of the Lawyer Velinoŭsky

The Cultural-Historical Brothel of the Lawyer Velinoŭsky (light novel) Zyanon Pashtalenka, a student from Minsk, gets a job in the mysterious embassy of Ancient Greece in the Republic of Belarus, where he gets caught up in a maelstrom of dizzy... Continue reading
On Fluffy Paws
Volha Hapeyeva

On Fluffy Paws

Belarusian-language poetry for children is still mainly in traditional rhymed forms. The poet Volha Hapeyeva derives from this the adults' fear of the diversity of poetry and sets herself the goal of showing even the smallest readers how different po... Continue reading
"Soviet Belarus" under the Direction of Michasj Tscharot (non-fiction)
Hanna Sieviaryniec

"Soviet Belarus" under the Direction of Michasj Tscharot (non-fiction)

This book was written as a result of many years of research and archival work, which addressed the following questions: What stages does the history of the most important Soviet Belarusian-language newspaper "Soviet Belarus" cover, from its cr... Continue reading
Errors and Gaps
Aliaxey Talstou

Errors and Gaps

In his book Errors and Gaps, Aliaxey Talstou deals with the big issues of the present: the connection between information technologies and human consciousness, the instrumentalisation of history by authoritarian regimes, the effects of capitalism.... Continue reading
A Horse Rushes to the Festival Early in the Morning
Ales Harbul

A Horse Rushes to the Festival Early in the Morning

In Belarus, the Belarusian language is increasingly being pushed out of use. At the same time, many Belarusian-speaking children have to emigrate with their parents and grow up in an environment with other languages. Under such circumstances, the imp... Continue reading
Language Games
Tanya Dzivakova and Vera Burlak

Language Games

The artist and educator Tanya Dzivakova and the poet, translator and doctor of literature Vera Burlak are developing language games for children in Belarusian, a language that is coming under increasing pressure in today's Belarus. Many children left... Continue reading
While I was waiting (2017-2019)
Julia Autz

While I was waiting (2017-2019)

Alexander Lukashenko has ruled Belarus for almost 30 years. A generation has grown up that does not know its homeland without the authoritarian president. What does it mean to grow up under these circumstances? What is it like to live in a country wh... Continue reading

33booksforanotherbelarus 33booksforanotherbelarus

Bücher

Нетутэйшыя: Reversion

Нетутэйшыя: Reversion

Die 1990-er Jahre waren für die belarusische Literatur die Zeit der Befreiung aus dem erstarrten Korsett der sowjetischen literarischen Tradition, in der nur bestimmte Themen und Formen zugelassen waren. In der Wendezeit wucherte es nur so an neuen F... Weiterlesen
Das Wörterbuch des Krieges
Ostap Slyvynsky

Das Wörterbuch des Krieges

Nach dem Beginn des russischen Angriffskrieges gegen die Ukraine im Februar 2022 beschloss der ukrainische Dichter und Übersetzer Ostap Slyvynsky, seine literarische Stimme den Menschen zu leihen, die aus den Kriegsgebieten flüchteten und ihm ihre Er... Weiterlesen
Der Krieg hat kein weibliches Gesicht
Swetlana Alexijewitsch

Der Krieg hat kein weibliches Gesicht

Swetlana Alexijewitschs dokumentarischer Text, geschrieben 1983, erschienen 1985 in der Sowjetunion auf Russisch, handelt von Frauen, die während des Zweiten Weltkriegs in der Roten Armee gekämpft haben, aber nicht Teil der kollektiven Erinnerung gew... Weiterlesen
Das letzte Frühstück
Kasia Chekatoŭskaya

Das letzte Frühstück

Der Band umfasst sechs Stücke: "Mastektomie", "Das letzte Frühstück", "Diskret", "Ein halbes Jahr", "Gorgonen" und "Theater". In jedem Stück nimmt Kasia Chekatoŭskaya jene unterschiedlichen Formen der Gewalt und Kontrolle unter die Lupe, die in einem... Weiterlesen
Minsker Schule (Almanach)

Minsker Schule (Almanach)

Seit den 2000er Jahren gibt Dmitri Strozew den Almanach "Minsker Schule" heraus, um das Werk der nonkonformistischen belarusischen Autor:innen der 70er und 80er Jahre weiterzugeben. Die Hauptsprache des Almanachs war zunächst Russisch, die Sprache di... Weiterlesen
Verwandtschaft
Zbych Slupoŭsky

Verwandtschaft

Die Figuren des Romans gehören zu mehreren Generationen, die im Laufe der Geschichte immer wieder Umwälzungen und Katastrophen durchmachen: Revolution, Kollektivierung, Krieg, Kollaboration, Holocaust, Auszug aus den Dörfern in die Städte, Wendezeit... Weiterlesen
Der ewige Weg
Ihnat Abdziralovič

Der ewige Weg

Gleich zu Anfang dieses 1921 verfassten Essays wird Belarus als “die Grenze zwischen Ost und West” dargestellt, eine Kultur ohne scharfe Konturen. Die Tragödie der belarusischen Nation sieht Kančeŭski im Schwanken zwischen Ost und West. Der Ausweg be... Weiterlesen
Das kulturhistorische Bordell des Rechtsanwalts Welinoŭsky
Paval Kasciukevich

Das kulturhistorische Bordell des Rechtsanwalts Welinoŭsky

Der Minsker Student Zyanon Pashtalenka bekommt einen Job in der geheimnisvollen Botschaft des Alten Griechenlands in der Republik Belarus, wo er in einen Strudel schwindelerregender Ereignisse und schillernder Figuren gerät. Der neue Roman von Pavel... Weiterlesen
Auf flauschigen Pfoten
Volha Hapeyeva

Auf flauschigen Pfoten

Die belarusischsprachige Lyrik für Kinder kennt immer noch vor allem traditionelle gereimte Formen. Die Lyrikerin Volha Hapeyeva leitet davon die Angst der Erwachsenen vor der Vielfalt der Poesie ab und setzt sich zum Ziel, auch den kleinsten Leser:i... Weiterlesen
"Sowjetisches Belarus"
Hanna Sieviaryniec

"Sowjetisches Belarus"

Dieses Buch entstand als Ergebnis langjähriger Forschungs- und Archivarbeit, die sich mit folgenden Fragestellungen befasste: Welche Etappen umfasst die Geschichte der wichtigsten sowjetischen belarusischsprachigen Zeitung “Sowjetisches Belaru... Weiterlesen
Fehler und Lücken
Aliaxey Talstou

Fehler und Lücken

In seinem Buch Fehler und Lücken beschäftigt sich Aliaxey Talstou mit den großen Themen der Gegenwart: dem Zusammenhang zwischen den Informationstechnologien und dem menschlichen Bewusstsein, der Instrumentalisierung der Geschichte durch autoritäre... Weiterlesen
Unterordnungsverweigerung
Zmicier Vishnioŭ

Unterordnungsverweigerung

Die kulturelle „Nullpunkt“-Situation, die anhaltenden harten Repressionen in Belarus gegenüber allen und allem, was dem Staat nicht genehm ist, sowie der Krieg waren und sind für Vishnioŭ mit einem radikalen, beruflichen wie biographischen Bruch verb... Weiterlesen
Ein Pferd eilt morgens früh zum Fest
Ales Harbul

Ein Pferd eilt morgens früh zum Fest

In Belarus wird die belarusische Sprache immer mehr aus dem Gebrauch verdrängt. Gleichzeitig müssen viele belarusischsprachige Kinder mit ihren Eltern auswandern und wachsen in einem Umfeld mit anderen Sprachen auf. Unter solchen Umständen ist die Be... Weiterlesen
Sprachspiele
Tanya Dzivakova und Vera Burlak

Sprachspiele

Die Künstlerin und Pädagogin Tanya Dzivakova und die Dichterin, Übersetzerin und promovierte Literaturwissenschaftlerin Vera Burlak entwickeln Sprachspiele für Kinder und zwar auf Belarusisch, in einer Sprache, die im heutigen Belarus zunehmend unter... Weiterlesen
While I was waiting (2017-2019)
Julia Autz

While I was waiting (2017-2019)

Seit fast 30 Jahren regiert Alexander Lukaschenka in Belarus. Es ist eine Generation herangewachsen, die ihre Heimat nicht ohne den autoritären Präsidenten kennt. Was bedeutet es, unter diesen Umständen aufzuwachsen? Wie ist es in einem Land zu leb... Weiterlesen